The L to the 1

Up four streets
and over three,
we were soaked
through by the time
we had traveled
a block and a half.

I wish I could say
we stopped to buy
an umbrella,
but we figured
the damage had
already been done.

I was shivering and
your hands were pruning.
My makeup was running and
your metro card was soggy.

I tried being mad when
we finally reached the
cover of the subway,
but your brown eyes
seemed to cool me down
and dry me off.

We realized we walked
all those blocks
by accident when
I took a second look
at the map,
but we laughed
it off as I rang out
my hair.

The sneeze I have now
was worth
holding your hand
in the rain.

Leave a Reply

