Blinking

I blink my eyes as if my contacts have turned inside out
when really I think I’m just physically blinking back
thoughts of what I should have done today, or said to you,
blinking to erase the past few moments where I thought:

I should have turned the fan off before I left home,
I should have bought more vegetables at the market,
I should have given that homeless woman a dollar,
I should have spent more time with my dog last week.

Physically blink away the guilty thoughts,
and open your eyes to the next hour of
free waking moments, moments of nothing
other than silly poems about everything

you should have done.

One thought on “Blinking

  1. I do that… only instead of blinking i sort of shake my head as if shaking away the unpleasant thought. Good post!

Leave a Reply

