window seating

The lowest feeling is when you realize
your summers of love
were nothing but
too much booze and dirty water in the bay
climbing three flights of stairs, forgetting your way
unshaven legs and watery eyes
and those nights I cried,
well

I pulled my earrings out
to hear you complain about
all the things you missed back home
and here in maryland you’re all alone
since he passed away

since he passed away
so still we lay.
then

autumn came
and I’m not sure where to place
the blame, on how I forgot your face,
those eyes,
the richness of a million skies
your laugh-
which I swear starts in your fists
and curves around those wrists
and slowly enters my ears
where I can only hear
that season I miss.

2 thoughts on “window seating

Leave a Reply

